Divisional Charts in Vedic Astrology

September 22, 2023

Divisional Charts in Vedic Astrology: Unlocking Deeper Insights into Life’s Complexities

Astrology, a complicated system of prediction and self-discovery, offers a wealth of tools and techniques to get deeper into the complexities of an individual’s life. One such tool is the use of divisional charts, also known as Vargas or D-charts. Divisional charts are a vital component of Vedic astrology (Jyotish), an ancient astrological system from India. These charts provide specialized insights into various facets of a person’s life, offering a more accurate and detailed perspective beyond the birth chart (natal chart). Explore the concept of divisional charts in astrology, their significance, and how they can be used to gain a deeper understanding of one’s life journey.

Understanding Divisional Charts in Vedic Astrology

Divisional charts are a fundamental part of Vedic astrology and are created by dividing each sign of the zodiac into a specific number of parts or divisions. Each divisional chart focuses on a particular aspect of life and provides insights into that area with greater precision. The primary divisional chart, known as the D-1 chart or the Rashi chart, is the birth chart itself, which represents the overall personality and life path of an individual.

The D-1 chart is created by dividing the 360-degree zodiac circle into 12 equal parts, corresponding to the 12 signs of the zodiac. Each sign is 30 degrees, and the placement of planets within these signs forms the basis of the birth chart. However, the divisional charts go beyond this fundamental chart to offer specialized perspectives.

The Significance of Divisional Charts in Vedic Astrology

Divisional charts are used to refine and augment the information obtained from the birth chart. They provide a more detailed analysis of specific areas of life, allowing astrologers and individuals to gain deeper insights into their strengths, challenges, and potentials. Each divisional chart is named with a D followed by a number (e.g., D-2, D-9, D-10), and each serves a unique purpose.

The significance of divisional charts lies in their ability to:

Highlight Specific Life Areas:

Divisional charts focus on different aspects of life, such as relationships, career, finances, and spirituality. This specialized approach allows astrologers to provide more accurate and targeted guidance.

Refine Astrological Analysis:

While the birth chart provides a broad overview of an individual’s life, divisional charts refine the analysis, offering finer details. This precision is especially useful when assessing complex life situations or specific questions.

Reveal Subtle Influences:

Divisional charts unveil subtle planetary influences that may not be readily apparent in the birth chart. They shed light on hidden talents, challenges, and life patterns.

Address Specific Concerns:

Individuals can use divisional charts to seek answers to specific questions or concerns in various areas of life. For instance, the D-7 chart is often consulted for insights into children, while the D-10 chart provides information on career and profession.

Types of Divisional Charts in Vedic Astrology

There are 16 divisional charts in Vedic astrology, each with a specific number of divisions and a particular focus. While it’s not possible to delve into all of them in this article, we’ll explore some of the most commonly used divisional charts and their significance.

D-2 (Hora Divisional Chart):

The D-2 chart divides the zodiac into two parts, each representing wealth and possessions. This chart is used to analyze an individual’s financial status, assets, and the potential for wealth accumulation. It helps assess one’s financial stability and prosperity.

D-9 (Navamsa Divisional Chart):

The D-9 chart is perhaps the most widely used divisional chart in Vedic astrology. It divides each sign into nine parts, offering a detailed view of an individual’s spiritual path, marriage, and overall destiny. It is considered essential for analyzing the quality of relationships and marital happiness.

D-10 (Dasamsa Divisional Chart):

The D-10 chart divides each sign into ten parts and is primarily used to analyze one’s career, profession, and reputation in society. It provides insights into an individual’s work-related challenges and achievements, helping in career planning and decision-making.

D-7 (Saptamsa Divisional Chart):

The D-7 chart divides each sign into seven parts and focuses on children, progeny, and creativity. It is used to predict the number of children a person may have, their gender, and their overall well-being. Additionally, it provides insights into an individual’s creative talents and interests.

D-60 (Shashtiamsa Divisional Chart):

The D-60 chart is one of the most detailed divisional charts, dividing each sign into 60 parts. It provides an extremely comprehensive view of an individual’s life, encompassing various aspects such as spirituality, karma, and past lives. It is used for deep self-analysis and understanding one’s soul’s journey.

Using Divisional Charts in Vedic Astrology

Best Astrologer use divisional charts as supplementary tools to provide a more comprehensive and detailed analysis of an individual’s life. Here’s how divisional charts are typically used:

Assessment of Specific Life Areas: Each divisional chart has a specific focus, such as marriage, career, or family. Astrologers use the relevant divisional chart to assess the corresponding life area in detail. For example, the Navamsa chart is consulted for matters related to marriage and relationships.

Timing of Events: Divisional charts are instrumental in timing events and predicting when specific life events are likely to occur. Astrologers analyze planetary positions in divisional charts to identify periods of significance or change in a particular life area.

Confirmation and Validation: When insights from the natal chart align with those from the divisional chart, astrologers gain greater confidence in their interpretations. This confirmation helps in providing more accurate and reliable readings.

Comparative Analysis: Astrologers compare the planetary positions in the natal chart with those in the divisional chart to identify patterns and correlations. This comparative analysis allows for a more nuanced understanding of an individual’s life.

Addressing Specific Concerns: Clients often have specific questions or concerns related to certain life areas. Astrologers use divisional charts to address these concerns in greater detail, offering insights and guidance tailored to the client’s needs.

Predicting Major Life Events: Divisional charts are especially valuable for predicting major life events such as marriage, childbirth, career changes, and spiritual awakenings. Astrologers can provide clients with timelines and guidance based on these charts.


Divisional charts in astrology are invaluable tools for gaining deeper insights into specific areas of an individual’s life. Moreover, they enhance astrological analysis by providing a more detailed and specialized perspective. Whether it’s the Navamsa chart for understanding marital relationships, the Dasamsa chart for assessing career prospects, or other divisional charts focusing on various life aspects, these charts play a significant role in astrological consultations. By combining the information from the natal chart with insights from divisional charts, astrologers offer a more comprehensive understanding of a person’s destiny, helping individuals navigate life’s journey with greater clarity and purpose. Divisional charts, like the constellations in the night sky, reveal the layers of cosmic influence that shape our lives, making astrology a timeless and powerful tool for self-discovery and guidance.



Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp.